top of page

My first Purple Carrot Subscription box reveal!

Before I became Vegan I was ordering the Vegetarian subscription box from Blue Apron. I was very satisfied with there service. The only thing I didn't like were they Asian inspired meals. I just didn't find the flavor very tasty.

We cancelled our Blue Apron service when we became Vegan in June 2017, since they did not offer a Vegan option.

I was super bummed that we wouldn't have any more meals delivered to our home. So I started researching other food/meal subscription boxes. Sadly there are very few that offer a Vegan option.

I ended up finding two companies that offered a full Vegan meal delivery. I called both companies and asked where they sourced there ingredients from and a brief over view of the meals I would receive and general information about the company.

I chose to try out Purple Carrot, because I loved how the reciepes looked in there pictures and the customer service I received on my phone call with them. They ship the ingredients in a 100% recyclable box and make sure the package stays fresh for the entire delivery. They are constantly changing there meals and making sure they send out seasonally focused recipes. Im a big fan of the pre-portioned ingredients in meal delivery services, because there are not a ton of left overs or that I had to go to the grocery store, and buy a large jar of a single seasoning, that I will only use 1/8 of a teaspoon for. I feel like it saves time and money. A down fall to some of the meals is that it usually takes 40 min to prepare and cook. They are not super quick meals. You will need to have time to make each meal.

I love cooking, so I am eager to try there nutritional plant-powered dishes this week. I know that eating more plants is one of the easiest ways each of us can do something to leave the planet a little better than we found it.

If you follow me on Instagram,

Then you were hopefully able to watch my Insta Stories video of my unboxing reveal of Purple Carrot. If not, don't worry I documented some photos while I was opening it, to post here!

I was gone most of the day, and when I got home I noticed my box on my door step!

The delivery notification said it was delivered at 1pm. I opened the box at 5:45pm and was very pleased that all the items in the box were still chilled.

There layout was different than what I had been used to with Blue Apron. They categorized each meal into its own separate bag. There were a few miscellaneous items not included in the bags though.

A pepper and cucumber had fallen out of one of the bags and broke, so that was disappointing.

It took me a minute to locate the three recipes. They were tucked on the side of the box behind the styrofoam. It was a bit difficult to find.

Over all I was pleased with the freshness off all the ingredients and that they were cold when I opened the box.

I am very excited to test these reciepes out! I will be posting directions to each of these three recipes later this week on the blog.

Stay tuned!

If you would like to order and try a box of Purple Carrot, click this link below and you will get $25 off your order!

xoxo

Megan The Vegan Mom

bottom of page