top of page

Review for 501 on Main

Every year a small town up in the Wasatch Mountains hosts a weekend celebration called Swiss Days. The little town known as Midway, Utah turned "Harvest Days" into Swiss Days. They dress in the traditional clothing unique to the region of Switzerland where their ancestors were born. The town is small and slightly designed to look like a Swiss Village.

Sean, Graham and I drove all the way up there to join the festival and see what they had to offer. I was able to purchase some cute little outfits for Graham. Sadly they did not have any vegan friendly food options, minus drinks.

We were starving, so after we left Midway, we drove 20 minutes to Park City to grab a late lunch. We had been told that 501 on Main had a few Vegan options on there menu.

We parked on Main Street and walked up the hill to corner where 501 on Main was located. They had an outdoor patio right along the sidewalk, with the hostess both seated outside. We asked if we were able to sit on the second level, they had space, so they seated us right away, and had a high chair ready for Graham.

The atmosphere of this restaurant is very relaxed. You walk into an open bar area with high table tops situated around it and a staircase leading upstairs to a formal dining area and the outside deck.

We started off with drink of course! I ordered my usual, a Margarita and Sean ordered a Ballast Point Watermelon IPA.

On there menu that had each item labeled with [GF, V, V2 option] It was so convenient and easy for us to make our decision . We didn't have to ask if a certain item had dairy in it or if it could be made Vegan. We knew our options and that was so helpful!

For our appetizer we ordered the Utah Sweet Onion Slivers. They had this marked with the V2 for Vegan. So I asked them what did they replace the dipping sauce with? Our waiter informed up that it was a vinegar citrus sauce.

I could not get enough of these! Graham enjoyed them as well. I even had to ask for more sauce, since I had already used mine up.

For my entree I ordered the Vegan Chili. It had vegetables with legumes, onions, peppers, diced, tomatoes, and Mediterranean spices. Served along side rosemary bread.

It was a very filling soup. I haven't been stuffed like that since I became Vegan. One of the things I have loved about becoming Vegan is that I never am uncomfortably full after eating. But I believe this was a very hearty meal and would have been great after a day of skiing. I will order it again, but when its snowing outside.

Seam ordered their, Vegan Curry Wrap. They had multiple curry dishes, so they always made the curry sauce in house. The wrap was filled with Chikken Tenders, fresh carrots, potatoes, roasted peppers, and simmered in a coconut curry sauce. I did not taste this, because I am not a curry fan. Sean on the other hand, is! He said it was not spicy but had lots of Curry flavor and was very filling. He did not finish all of his wrap and took it home to eat later that evening.

Graham had a fun time walking around the the restaurant. We definitely enjoy going to places that are accepting of small children and understand when they refuse to sit still anymore.

Our waiter did fill a bit overwhelmed, but was able to give us decent service. He loved Graham and kept trying to make him laugh.

When we visit 501 on Main next, I would love to be seated on the upper outside deck.

501 Main Street Park City, UT 84060

Phone: 435.645.0700

xoxo

Megan The Vegan Mom

bottom of page