top of page

Review on the brand new Vegan restaurant, Boltcutter


Excited is an understatement when I refer to the opening of this restaurant! I first heard about this restaurant opening a few months ago. The owners of "Boltcutter" also own "Buds Sandwich Shop." (I did a review on Buds go check it out)

Buds social media page announced that they were in the works to open a Central American themed restaurant with street tacos and other vegan dishes, with specialty crafted cocktails...

My heart stoped right there. My two favorite "M" words were mentioned in the same sentence, Mexican Food and Margaritas!

They also sneaked in an announcement about another store front in the works called "Monkeywrench." It will be serving a large variety of handcrafted vegan ice creams, along side a full espresso bar and house made baked goods.

Holy guacamole! I couldn't hold my excitement in any longer! My poor husband Sean was driving, while I was reading this social media announcement. I am glad he didn't steer off the road and crash, as I randomly started screaming with excitement at my phone!

They opened 4 days ago and I had the luxury of going last night, their 3rd night open! So without further stalling.... Here is my review on BOLTCUTTER.

I am always afraid that I might amp things up a bit much, and then arrive at the location only to be let down. BUT that was definitely not the case here.

We walked in at 615pm on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was already half way filled up! By the time we left at 730pm. It was a packed house! That right there should tell you this place is amazing.

We were seated right away, and asked for a table in the corner since they do not offer high chairs. Graham is at the stage where he is not willing to sit for long periods of time and requires Sean or I to get up and walk around with him. I invited my parents to tag along so we could order multiple things off the menu. I was determined to try as much as I could eat!

We started off ordering drinks. I ordered the

Bolcutter Margarita

-Tequila, lime juice, orange liqueur, spiced orange bitters, mezcal mist

Sean ordered a Red Rock Elephant Double IPA

We ordered 3 appetizers

Nachos

-Corn chips, cheese sauce. Beans. Pico. Guac. Pickled jalapeños. Green Onions. Cashew Cream. Barbacoa Jackfruit

Street Corn

-Grilled Corn. Cashew cream. Chili powder. Almond parmesan. Chipotle. Cilantro

Buffalo Cauliflower

-Battered cauliflower. Habanero buffalo. Almond cilantro chimichurri. Ranch

Our Entrees included:

Port Boy Taco

-Battered portobello. Grilled Corn. Romesco. Romaine. Cashew cream. Green onion. Served on fresh corn tortillas. You can choose to order 2 or 3 tacos.

Barbacoa Especial Burrito

-Chipotle BBQ jackfruit. Beans. Rice. Pico. Lettuce. Guac. Served on a fresh flour tortilla with a side of pickled veggies.

Baja Taco

-Breaded and grilled citrus tempeh. Chipotle salsa. Cashew cream. Cilantro. Cabbage. Lime. Served on fresh corn tortillas. You can choose to order 2 or 3 tacos.

Sin Carne Asada Burrito

-Marinated seitan. Beans. Rice. Pico. Mango tomatillo salsa. Lettuce. Guac. Served on a fresh flour tortilla with a side of pickled veggies.

The food was absolutely delicious. I know I say that a lot, but I love food! This restaurant really hit the spot with all the street taco options! Their creamy cheese sauce on the nachos was perfect! The heat on the buffalo cauliflower buds was just right! My mother couldn't handle the heat, but I sure loved it! Graham couldn't get enough of the corn, he kept trying to reach for the bowl with both hands!

There are quite a few solid plant based, vegan, food establishments in Salt Lake City. They are not as upscale or modern as I would prefer a restaurant to be, but hey I will take what I can get!

So I really appreciate this modern fresh take, it is definitely needed and desired for Vegans and even NON Vegans in the Salt Lake City area.

I was very impressed and honestly want to eat here at least once a week. Luckily for Sean, he works around the block and can grab lunch here anytime! Ahh I am jealous!

I am eager for Monkeywrench to open! The shop will be right next door to Boltcutter! You will be able to grab dinner and then head next door for dessert!

Ahhh, so this is what Vegan Food Heaven feels like!

So stop reading this, and head over there now! I promise you will love it! Vegan or Not. IT. IS. DELICIOUS.

As a newly opened business they are still getting everything figured out. They do not have a website yet. But they do have an instagram page.

They are only open for dinner, staring at 5pm, but they did mention that they will open for lunch soon, no set date yet.

Address: 57 E Gallivan Avenue SALT LAKE CITY, Utah

Hours: 5pm-11pm, Daily

XOXO

Megan The Vegan Mom

bottom of page